Posted by: Sheila | January 5, 2009

On why?

 

05janonwhyBut the reason why we are unhappy is important too. We are so busy and so driven we can make a call whilst emptying the dishwasher, making the lunch and feeding the baby. We rarely do one thing at a time. It almost feels like cheating. There seems to be so much to be done and almost no time. So we frantically move from place to place putting out fires.

Today I tried to be different. I christened today “Train Track Day” (I have young children!) and though I had loads I meant to achieve, today I got two huge train sets and assembled them in our living room, the main thoroughfare of our home.

After breakfast I got down on my hands and knees and played trains. It was only half an hour out of twenty-four hours but I concentrated and applied my brain to become involved in the game. Then I announced to my playmates that I was now going to iron and I did.

I won’t bore you with the details but I hope you get the picture. I did one thing at a time, immersed myself in it no matter what tried to distract me.(Especially myself.)

My day plan was loose in my head with loads of space so there was no panic. I removed anything non-vital from my “mental to do list” and kept it brief, oh and I decided to pretend to be in a good mood all day.

Result- I am tired but I had a nice enjoyable day. I accomplished some tasks, the family is happy but most importantly so am I.

Leave a Reply

Categories

