Posted by: Sheila | November 7, 2008

The silly season

07novchristmas

With Halloween over, now all eyes are turning to Christmas. The shops are covered in Christmas presents, decorations and music and in the newspaper they are giving away Christmas dvds. In one way this is a little disconcerting and quite materialistic. Yet in another the Christmas season, however early it begins, does make us feel good. I watched a Christmas movie today and though we still have seven weeks to go I came away with hope in my heart and a smile on my face. So this year to get myself in the right frame of mind and so that on Christmas eve I am not just running around stressed, I am compiling a Christmas plan. Not as ominous as it sounds in fact I think it should be cheesy but quite fun.

I am going to watch some Christmas feel good films (its A Wonderful Life, Miracle on 34th Street and so on), I am going to play Christmas tapes in the car ( poor passengers!) I am going to make a pudding a cake or both before the end of this month thus taking the pressure off. I am going to make a present list and a to do list for the big day.

And finally, I may only by the end of this month have achieved one of those items but at least I shall know what to do, what must be done, what may be done and what I will never get around to doing. You see then I will have time in December to enjoy the build-up, the parties, the atmosphere rather than being knee deep in flour and wrapping paper barely coming up for air! I reckon if you cannot beat them, join them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

